Godric Gryffindor, Rowena Ravenclaw, Helga Hufflepuff, and Salazar Slytherin. These are the legendary names of the four founders of the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Henceforth, the students were divided into these four houses, depending on their respective nature and their affinity to the various ideals embodied by the four founders. So, what Hogwarts House are you in? Take this Harry Potter House Quiz to find out!

A Brief History of the Houses

Gryffindor embodies the ideals of bravery, courage, perseverance, etc… At the same time, Slytherin, generally regarded as being its polar opposite and its arch-rival, engenders the ideals of cunning, craftiness, guile, ambitions, etc. On the other hand, Hufflepuff maintains an innocent outlook on life, symbolising hard work, discipline, fairness, etc… At the same time, Ravenclaw is meant to spread the tenets of studiousness, wisdom, and a thirst for knowledge seeking. However, it is to be remembered that belonging to Gryffindor does not mean all members should have an equal, generalised meaning of the ideal – in the novels and books, Neville is often portrayed as being meek and cowardly. In the same way, belonging to Slytherin does not necessarily equate to being a cold-hearted selfish person since Snape also belonged to Slytherin. We all know what extraordinary sacrifices he willingly took on. 

The House Colours 

  • Gryffindor carries the house colours of red and gold, both vibrant and shining. 
  • Slytherin is painted in the shades of green and silver, subdued and sly.
  • Ravenclaw boasts of a bold blue and silver, embodying their serious attitudes.
  • Hufflepuff embodies the very essence of joy and innocence and is painted yellow and black. 

House Mascots

It is evident that the house mascots also play a role in symbolising what each house stands for. Gryffindor has a mascot of an animated lion, Ravenclaw has a soaring eagle, Hufflepuff has an endearing badger, and Slytherin has a tenacious serpent. Thus, the lion traditionally stands for courageousness, the eagle for an attitude of scaling heights on the road to success, the badger as a symbolisation of an enterprise for hard work, and the serpent embodies the culture of quick wits and selfish ambitions. 

The Sorting Ceremony

In the first year at Hogwarts, the students have to attend the famous Sorting Ceremony, where an old Sorting Hat, apparently having a consciousness of its own, is placed on their heads, and they are grouped into their respective houses. The ideals of each house are all fundamental to human beings. In effect, they complement each other towards creating a person well taught in all aspects of their life – be it in the field of academic excellence, bravery, studiousness, ambitions, hard work, etc. Likewise, suppose you are curious about what house you would be placed in. In that case, all you have to do is take the Harry Potter house quiz, answer a set of questions about your choices and nature of mind, and your fundamental outlook on life, and get sorted into one of these four legendary houses of Hogwarts!

Written by 

Chris Bennett is a travel enthusiast who wishes to publish his travel experiences someday. He is here to learn more about what people think about the different trends and happenings across the globe.